Wednesdays White Sox game got me thinking about something that I hadn't really thought of before but I find rather interesting. As they have all season the White Sox were yet again unable to close out a save situation. As Matt Thornton's parting gift to One Bad Pitch he added yet another blown save to his previous three. What made this blown save different and what I found intriguing was how it unfolded.
When Chris Sale started the 9th the Sox had a 4-1 lead. He quickly gave up 3 hits and a run and left the game without getting an out. Jesse Crain then came in and walked one and struck out one to have the bases loaded with one out. In steps Mr. Thornton who strikes out the first man he faces but then gives up a game tying hit. He gets the next guy out to end the ninth and then loses in the 10th.
The purpose of this post and why this game caught my attention is a hypothetical one. If Thornton had given up another hit and run in the ninth inning he would have still gotten the blown save but not the loss and Jesse Crain, who was responsible for the runner stranded at second in the ninth, would have gotten the loss but not the blown save. If Crain is responsible for the loss should he not also be charged with the blown save? More importantly why do I have to lose 8 points because Sale and Crain can't get people out? Just another interesting quirk in the MLB rule book and some food for thought next time your closer enters the game with men already on base.